Uncategorized

Day #1 – Post #1 – Solo Shadowrun – The Concept

Solo Shadowrun:
One of the things that have happened since starting this blog, is I have joined a Shadowrun RPG (5thEd) group near me.

A short video intro to Shadowrun, for anyone new to the shadows: HERE

As Shadowrun games often have a built in level of deception or at least distrust of information – a build as you go, solo sandbox style adventure / campaign should be a good way to go.

As a ‘team’ of deniable assets a group of Shadowrunners is normally quite a few characters, we have 4 main and 2 extras on rotation in our group.

I don’t like to solo large groups of characters, so I’m going to make a small ‘fire team’ of 2 experienced runners to take on a run from the “Random Run Generator” in the back of the rulebook. Between results of this run and character background I will fill in, I’m hoping the game builds it’s self.

I may also ‘interlace’ stuff from my actual group game and the 3 Ingredient Solo Play! from #SoloGamingAppreciationMonth2015

I am a huge fan of the Shadowrun rules, though they are very complete (or otherwise known as complex!) and so I may simplify as I go along, but the edgy, gritty and often lethal world will be in full effect.

I’m hoping the output becomes something akin to a short story, completed by the end of the month. (dam – I just put that in writing 😉 )

So a quick question for other soloists:
How do you deal with misinformation, deception and/or player(&gm) knowledge vs character knowledge in your solo games?

Tomorrows post will be Chronicles of Arax related 🙂

3 thoughts on “Day #1 – Post #1 – Solo Shadowrun – The Concept

  1. I find to handle “How do you deal with misinformation, deception and/or player(&GM) knowledge vs character knowledge in your solo games?” it is useful to be able to step in and play “both sides of the fence” both as player & “pseudo GM” for the abstract character.

    Using skill/attribute checks to see if the character spots lies, notices something amiss, and so on is the way I go. Some might call this “player emulation”, but I see it as a natural aprt of whatever system I’m using, just like STR, DEX and so on checks.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the ‘donjon approach’ whereby a successful roll means that something has been confirmed.

    So a detect lies roll, if successful, reveals it was a lie. A secret door search will reveal a secret door etc.

    Then there is no need to peek ‘behind the scenes’ either you know they are lying or you don’t.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “How do you deal with misinformation, deception and/or player(&GM) knowledge vs character knowledge in your solo games?”

    I found the following blog post on The Lone Crusader website really handy for this, although he does play D&D, I think you can take the advice for other roleplaying games. He has a Default Behaviours rule, where he decided what his character will likely do in any given situation, so even if he finds something out, he follows his default behaviours and has his character act as if he does not know.

    http://thelonecrusader.com/how-to-play-through-a-published-adventure-on-your-own-without-a-dungeon-master

    When playing D&D adventures, I try to cover up info in the published adventure, so I only see the description of the scene as would be read to the players by the DM/GM. I then think what my characters would do based on their personalities and what they are (fighter, rogue, etc.) and decide for each of them what they will do in this room/scene. Then I reveal the secret info, and do only what I had thought of doing, even if that means ignoring treasure because I didn’t think to search the bodies.

    Perhaps you can apply the same idea to Shadowrun? I’ve not played Shadowrun yet, but I hope to. I’m thinking I’ll probably play a few characters in Shadowrun, maybe 4 as I did with D&D, then I’ll have a full team of shadowrunners at my disposal!

    Hope this helps!

    Like

Leave a Reply

